Introduction to the Enneagram

The Enneagram is a revealing map of the human condition that offers self-awareness and a more complete understanding of how people approach life. At Deep Living Lab, we use this wisdom to explore a pathway to our individual and collective healing.

As I engage in this work, and in meaningful and impactful programs such as Deep Living, I have come to realize that the Enneagram is not a self-improvement project as I originally had thought, but rather a practice in self-acceptance.

-Katleen C., participant, Deep Living Retreat

The Enneagram as a Symbol

The circle, triangle, and hexad as symbols are foundational to the process of awakening to reality.

The Circle: The Law of One

Qualities associated with the circle are “unending,” “unity,” and “wholeness.” Each of us have all nine Enneagram points along the circle and the associated dynamics within us. We experience a paradox of being individuals, while at the same time being connected to every other type–and to all that is.

The Triangle: The Law of Three

The triangle represents the triadic nature of reality. Western culture is steeped in dualism, which shows up in polarities such as black/white, us/them, you/me, right/wrong, doing/being, and material/spiritual. Opening to the triadic nature of life invites us into presence and allows a new, unexpected way to arise.

The Hexad: The Law of Seven

We are part of a universe in constant motion. The hexad is an irregular shape, representing the movement of the life force, of consciousness, and of change itself.

The Nine Points

Each point along the outer circle represents a particular personality type (a particular expression of the human condition and of consciousness). Within this, each point has its own internal blueprint, inner commentary, and perception of self and of the external world.

Each point also represents a specific connection to that which is still, spacious, and eternal; that which is beyond the limitations of the personality.

The numbers do not represent value (Type Nine is not “better than” Type Three, for example), and, while there is movement and relationship between types, we have one core type our entire life. We may, however, fluctuate between different levels of presence within our type.

Explore the Nine Types

Read our categorizations and descriptions for each of the nine Enneagram types.

Curious to see what's hidden below the surface?

Sign up for our email list to receive our free Introduction to the Enneagram ebook, which includes the complete version of each iceberg model and more!

* indicates required

Enneagram Discovery Sessions

By scheduling a session with a Deep Living coach, you can learn more about Enneagram types and how they relate to your behavior and motivations. All in service of helping you find your core type.